Light Welterweight

Light Welterweight

Also known as Super Lightweight, this division was originally formed in 1962. The weight limit is set at 140lb (63.5kg / 10st), with the first official champion coming in the shape of Pinky Mitchell. The longest title reign is held by legendary Mexican boxer Julio Cesar Chavez with 12 title defenses, while Manchester’s world champ Ricky Hatton enjoyed huge UK support in the early 2000s.


Notable Light Welterweight champions:

Tony Canzoneri, Barney Ross, Carlos Ortiz, Nicolino Locche, Aaron Pryor, Julio Cesar Chavez, Pernell Whitaker, Kosta Tszyu, Ricky Hatton, Josh Taylor, and Jose Ramirez.

Latest News

This site uses cookies to improve our site, products and services, to make your browsing experience better and to provide relevant marketing by analysing how you use our services. Detailed information on our use of cookies, and how you can block them on your browser, is provided in our Cookie policy. By using this Site or clicking on ‘I agree’, you consent to the use of cookies. No, give me more info