Dubbed the 9 stone division, Featherweight fighters are allowed a maximum weight of 126lbs (57.15kg / 9st). Originating in 1860 under the London Prize Ring Rules, the first featherweight champion in the world is considered Irishman Ike Weir. The longest title reign of the modern era is held by Panamanian boxer Eusebio Pedroza with 19 title defenses. It was Northern Ireland’s Barry McGuigan who ended Pedroza’s run, while Sheffield’s ‘Prince’ Naseem Hamed became one of boxing’s biggest stars of the 1990s.


Notable Featherweight champions:

Willie Pep, Eusebio Pedroza, Azumah Nelson, Rafael Marquez, Naseem Hamed, Marco Antonio Barrera, Manny Pacquaio, Josh Warrington, and Garry Russell Jr.

Latest News

No results

This site uses cookies to improve our site, products and services, to make your browsing experience better and to provide relevant marketing by analysing how you use our services. Detailed information on our use of cookies, and how you can block them on your browser, is provided in our Cookie policy. By using this Site or clicking on ‘I agree’, you consent to the use of cookies. No, give me more info